LET’S BAKE! 🍰

Hello there!

No, I’m not talking about baking a cake & yes, you’re most definitely on a beauty blog!


I’ve got a little technique to share with you.. It might not be new to some of you, it’s called baking!

What is baking?

Basically, applying excess powder on areas of the face you’d like to highlight by allowing it to set for a specific amount of time & then dusting away the excess powder off!

Why should you bake?

The term, which has been used in the drag community for years, refers to letting translucent powder sit on your face for five to 10 minutes, which allows the heat from your face to set your base foundation and concealer, and then dusting it off your face, leaving you with a creaseless, flawless finish!

Should you bake everyday?

This honestly depends on an individual’s personal preference, would I bake on everyday basis – No.

Why? Simply because it’s just too much of product on my face & I find that my skin can’t breathe.

Although this does give me a flawless coverage & finish. I save this for my special events ; that is, when I like to add on my layers!

Baking, although a beautiful technique can go wrong in many ways if you don’t follow the right steps!

Here are a few tips on how to bake:

  •  Hydrate your eye area: I cannot stress on how important it is to use a good eye cream or moisturizer around the eyes before doing this. If you don’t hydrate, the excess powder can enhance patchiness, dryness and flaking around the eyes! (Not a good look)

What I use: Neutrogena Fine Fairness Cream SPF20/PA+

  • Apply a thick concealer under your eyes: like I told you, this technique is piling on a lot of layers, but when you want to extend the longevity of your makeup try to layer two thin layers of concealer and then bake!

What I use: Make Up Forever Ultra HD concealer or Maybelline Fit Me

  • Dust a loose translucent powder: finally take a damp makeup wedge/sponge and dip it into your power, bake under your eyes, under that contour, chin & forehead! Basically parts you want to highlight!

What I use: Make Up For Ever HD Microfinish Powder  or MAC Prep + Prime CC powder (Yellow)

  • Let the “baking” process begin: continue with eyeshadow work & all that jazz & let the powder set and melt your foundation into the skin, this excess powder also helps dusting off eyeshadow fall out
  • Dust it all out: take a loose fluffy brush and dip it into a pressed powder of your shade, using this dust off the excess powder and blend the whole look together!

What I use: Real Techniques Setting Brush + MAC Studio Fix Powder or Mineralize Skin Finish

Boom! You my friend have officially been baked (See what I did there?)

I hope this was easy for you to understand & helped you out!

Buy these products at:

Amazing shot by : Eric Samuel
Till then,

Love love love & more love 

Avec Amour, Ranitaβ™₯
∞

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear!

